Creswick Museum is an accredited museum and is housed in the former Municipal Offices of the Shire of Creswick, the Town Hall complex. The Research Centre is housed in the old Infant Welfare Centre, Cnr. of Raglan Street, Friday and Saturday 11am to 3pm. The Town Hall was built in 1876, a magnificent two storey National Trust classified building, with a tower and clock. The interior of the building is notable for the magnificent classic winding staircase of local Basalt. From the balcony on the second floor you can look down onto the Exhibition Gallery. The nucleus of the collection was provided by the late E.J. Semmens and is held in trust for Creswick and the district residents. Creswick Museum has been fortunate to receive several bequests. The collection has been expanded with works of the artistic Lindsay family, especially by Lionel and Daryl. The Lindsays spent their childhood in Creswick. Paintings by Moyle and Tibbitts illustrate Creswick during the goldrush era. Victor Litherland bequeathed to the people of Creswick the paintings in his studio. Paintings by Bernaldo and Longstaff are also featured. Creswick was the place where the New Australasian number two Gold Mining Disaster happened in 1882 with the loss of 22 miners. Of the 27 miners who were trapped in the mine on the 12th December 1882 only five came out alive. The Museum has a display telling the story. Also on display artefacts from the mining era, including the lunch pail on which one of the deceased miners wrote his farewell message. Notable other people in the region were John Curtin, Captain Hepburn, Sir Alexander Peacock and William Spence. The Research Centre is a Place of Deposit, Public Records Office. Amongst the collection is "Creswick Advertisers" 1859 - 1974 and maps of the district.
Centrally located between Ballarat and Daylesford, this park is home to a variety of native wildlife and colourful spring wildflowers. Explore the ancient hills and discover the relics of the gold mining era on a bushwalk or mountain bike ride - or simply relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings with a picnic by tranquil St Georges Lake. Before you go Conditions can change in parks for many reasons. For the latest information on changes to local conditions, please visit the relevant park page on the Parks Victoria website. Be bushfire ready in the great outdoors. Refer to the Bushfire Safety section on the Parks Victoria website for tips on how to stay safe.
In a postcard setting on the banks of Birch's Creek at Smeaton, Anderson's Mill stands as a powerful reminder of an industry that flourished after the gold rush of the 1850's. Standing today much like it was over 100 years ago, the five-storey bluestone building and its magnificent iron water wheel are still in place. Anderson's Mill is located in Smeaton, north of Creswick, in an area well known for it's fertile volcanic soils and goldmining past. Construction of the flour mill commenced in 1861 and it was operational within six months. The Oat section of the Mill was completed by the following harvest. Outbuildings such as the stables, grain store and bluestone office were added later as the operation expanded. The water wheel was developed from designs by John Smeaton and the patterns cast locally in Ballarat at Hunt and Opie's Victoria Foundry. Water was collected from Hepburn Lagoon, about five kilometres from the Mill, then released into Birch Creek before being channelled into the water race to turn the wheel. The amount of water required depended on the product being processed. The person operating the release gates at Hepburn Lagoon would be asked to release 'half oats water' or 'full flour water' for the shift's operation. Before you go Conditions can change in parks for many reasons. For the latest information on changes to local conditions, please visit the relevant park page on the Parks Victoria website. Be bushfire ready in the great outdoors. Refer to the Bushfire Safety section on the Parks Victoria website for tips on how to stay safe.